NBA Teams – All about : Washington Wizards

Washington Wizards 2


The Washington Wizards are a professional basketball team based in Washington D.C. The team plays in the Eastern Conference, Southeast Division of the National Basketball Association (NBA). The franchise was originally founded as the Chicago Packers in 1961, before moving to Baltimore and becoming the Baltimore Bullets in 1963. The team finally moved to Washington D.C. in 1973 and has been located there ever since.

The Wizards’ colors are navy, red, white, and silver. The team’s mascot is a wizard named G-Wiz. The Wizards have had some strong seasons over the years, but have only won one NBA championship in their history, which came as the Baltimore Bullets in 1978.

History of the Team

The franchise got its start in 1961 as the Chicago Packers. They changed their name to the Zephyrs in their first season, and then moved to Baltimore in 1963, where they became the Baltimore Bullets. In their first year in Baltimore, the Bullets made it to the NBA Finals, but lost to the Los Angeles Lakers.

The Bullets struggled in the following seasons, but they got a boost in 1968 when they drafted Wes Unseld, who would go on to have a Hall of Fame career with the team. He was instrumental in the Bullets’ NBA championship win in 1978, when they defeated the Seattle SuperSonics in 7 games.

After winning the championship, the Bullets had some winning seasons, but they struggled again in the 1980s. In 1995, the team changed their name to the Washington Bullets, to distance themselves from the violent connotations of “Bullets”. In 1996, the team moved out of the Capital Centre and into the MCI Center, which is now known as Capital One Arena.

In the early 2000s, the team went through a rebuilding process and changed their name to the Washington Wizards in 1997. They drafted several key players, including Gilbert Arenas, Antawn Jamison, and Caron Butler. The team had some success in the mid-2000s, making the playoffs in four consecutive seasons from 2004-2008. However, since then, the team has struggled to stay competitive and has been rebuilding around young players like Bradley Beal and John Wall.

Notable Players and Coaches

The Wizards have had some legendary players over the years, including Walt Bellamy, Earl Monroe, Elvin Hayes, and Wes Unseld. Bellamy and Monroe were key players on the early Bullets teams in the 1960s, while Hayes and Unseld were part of the championship-winning squad in 1978.

John Wall and Bradley Beal have been the key players for the Wizards in recent years. Wall was drafted by the team in 2010 and quickly became one of the best point guards in the league. He was a five-time All-Star with the team before being traded to the Houston Rockets in 2020. Beal was also drafted by the Wizards, in 2012, and has developed into an elite scorer. He has been a two-time All-Star and was the NBA’s leading scorer in the 2020-21 season.

Several notable coaches have also led the team over the years. Gene Shue was the coach during the Bullets’ championship season in 1978. Wes Unseld later became the team’s coach and led them to the playoffs in his first season as a coach. Other notable coaches include Eddie Jordan, who led the team to several playoff appearances in the mid-2000s, and Flip Saunders, who coached the team from 2009-2012.

Most Successful Season

The Washington Bullets’ most successful season came in 1978, when they won the NBA championship. The team was led by Wes Unseld and Elvin Hayes, who were both named to the All-NBA First Team that season. The Bullets finished the regular season with a record of 44-38, which was only good enough for third place in the Central Division.

Despite their middling regular season record, the Bullets caught fire in the playoffs. They defeated the Atlanta Hawks and San Antonio Spurs in the first two rounds before taking on the Philadelphia 76ers in the Eastern Conference Finals. The series went to a decisive Game 7, which the Bullets won 105-94.

In the NBA Finals, the Bullets faced off against the Seattle SuperSonics. The Bullets’ tough defense limited the Sonics to only 87 points per game in the series. The Bullets won Game 7 105-99, giving the franchise its only NBA championship to date.


The Washington Wizards are owned by Monumental Sports & Entertainment, which is headed by businessman Ted Leonsis. Leonsis bought a minority stake in the Wizards in 1999, and became the majority owner in 2010. He has been instrumental in the team’s rebuilding process in recent years, and has also overseen the acquisition of other sports franchises, including the Washington Capitals (NHL) and the Washington Mystics (WNBA).


The Wizards play their home games at Capital One Arena, which is located in the Chinatown neighborhood of Washington D.C. The arena opened in 1997 as the MCI Center, and was renamed in 2017 after a multi-year sponsorship deal with Capital One. The arena has a seating capacity of just over 20,000 for basketball games.

Team Profile

Team Name: Washington Wizards
Championships: 1 (1978 as Baltimore Bullets)
Subdivision: Eastern Conference, Southeast Division
Owner: Monumental Sports & Entertainment (Ted Leonsis)
City: Washington D.C.
Mascot: G-Wiz
Stadium: Capital One Arena
Team URL:

Overall, the Washington Wizards have a rich history in the NBA, with one championship and many notable players and coaches over the years. While the team has struggled in recent seasons, they are rebuilding around young stars like Bradley Beal and hope to return to playoff contention in the near future.

Elon Musk - Detailed Billionaire Biography
NBA Teams – All about : Utah Jazz